If you need to share specific files or folders in SharePoint with people who don't otherwise have access to the site or location, the Share option on the right-click menu in the MacroView DMF and Message allows you to do this.
Sharing a file, folder or document set
Right click on a single file, folder or document set in the tree view or file list and select the Share option.
The following dialog will then provide options to make the link read-only or allow editing, to block the ability to download the file(s), to apply an expiry date to the link, and if Specific People is selected to choose users from the address book.
Tip: Site administrators can restrict sharing so that only owners can share files and can also restrict the sharing options that are permissible in a site. If the site does not allow sharing with anyone who receives the link, these options on this dialog will be disabled.
Once the options have been set click Copy to Clipboard and the link will then be available to paste into an email of other document.
The Share option in MacroView DMF and Message supports the creation of anonymous share links that give access to anyone who receives the link, whether it is directly or as having been forwarded from someone else.
MacroView DMF 8.6.113 or later also supports sharing with specific people inside your organisation.
If you need to share files and folders in other ways not available on this dialog, you can access these options via the browser by first selecting Open in Browser from the right-click menu in DMF.
Click here for more information on other types of share links.
Accessing files and folders that have been shared with you
If files have been shared with you they can be viewed in MacroView DMF or Message by expanding Shared with me node in Favorite mode.
- MacroView DMF / Message 8.5.1111 or later (anonymous links only)
- MacroView DMF / Message 8.6.113 or later (anonymous and specific internal user links)
- SharePoint Online (Office 365)
- Share is only available on folder, document sets or individual files.
- The Share option can be removed from the right-click menu if required. See How to hide or show DMF or Message right-click menu items for more information.